(Holistic) Yoga

Each of our instructors brings their own experience, style and/or lineage to their Hatha Yoga offerings.

Jackie Howard’s Hatha Yoga classes are offered in the tradition of Akhanda Yoga. Akhanda means whole and indivisible. All Akhanda Yoga classes are structured systematically yet artfully, to align the physical, energetic, mental/emotional and intuitive self through the five elements of practice and the five energetic principles:

Five Akhanda Elements of Practice
Movement (Annamaya Kosha)
Breathing (Pranayamaya Kosha)
Sound-work (Manomaya Kosha)
Meditation (Vijanamaya Kosha)
Yogic Wisdom (Anandamaya Kosha)

Five Akhanda Energetic Principles
Grounding (Apana Prana)
Uplifting (Pran Prana)
Centering (Samana Prana)
Expansion (Vyana Prana)
Connection to the Whole (Udana & Cosmic Pran)

Holistic (Akhanda®) Yoga is designed to inspire students through the diverse aspects of yoga including; asana, pranayama, mantra, mudra, relaxation & meditation. These techniques work synergistically to deepen your exploration of the body/mind connection, release blockages and cleanse outmoded thought patterns. This practice aims to heighten your energetic awareness and to balance and expand the flow of prana.